War on Women

What’s that?  The Republicans’ War on Women isn’t real?  We’re just making things up in order to be spiteful?  Oh yes, that’s exactly it.

Women still make approximately 77 cents to the dollar that men earn, and yet every single Republican Senator voted against the bill to rectify that.

We hear constant claims about “forcible” or “illegitimate” rape, with no word about what the other kind would be, implying that if you weren’t dragged into an alley by a stranger and beaten to within an inch of your life, what you went through doesn’t count.

These are just a few examples, for an extended list of the battles the GOP has waged on women, Stop The War on Women has given a great one here.

Sometimes I wonder why I even bother, and why I don’t just forget about all of this bullshit, pack up and move to a deserted island.  Not that I think it’s pointless or that I shouldn’t bother, more that it just makes me so angry I want to just close my laptop and walk away.  The fact that it is almost 100 years after women earned the right to vote, and we’re still dealing with so many problems, it just makes me sick.  On top of that, there are so many people who don’t even realize there is a problem.  That’s more frightening than angering actually.

If so many people are turning a blind eye to the problem, how can we ever expect to get anywhere?

3 thoughts on “War on Women

  1. (e)m says:

    by doing what your doing, calling attention to it.

    • wordofwoz says:

      That’s the first step. Next step: demanding something be done about it.

      And thank you for that. It makes me feel a little better about what I’m posting here, instead of just me feeling like I’m spewing crazy ramblings for no reason.

  2. mandaray says:

    Don’t lose hope. Without blogs like this, I never would have even realized the depth of these issues, or that there was anyone out there willing to listen to my side of the story. I thought I was alone. I thought I was crazy. I thought my frustration with the way things were was just “my problem”. I thought I was being too picky. And this was all just a few months ago. Your presence in the community and your willingness to speak about these issues *is* important. I know it’s hard, and I know sometimes it feels pointless. I’ve felt the same thing too. We’re fighting against so much apathy. But it does matter. It does make a difference, even if it’s only a small one. I’m living proof.

Leave a Reply

