You Call That Luck?

Luck comes in many shapes and sizes.  Sometimes you find a penny on the ground, sometimes you get into a fender bender with someone who turns out to be the love of your life.  It’s those pleasant little surprises that happen along the way by chance, and they can turn a frown into a smile, or even just make your bad day a little less bad.

Now that that’s established, let me just say this: having adjusted the way you live your life because of horrible experiences is not luck.

Allow me to explain.  Recently, I stumbled across a blog devoted to testimonials of girls and women who have been the victims of sexual assault and rape entitled Patriarchy Survivor, and so far there have been some incredibly powerful, tragic stories, but the one that caught my attention was this one: From Victim to Survivor.  The reason it caught my attention so strongly was in the word choice.

“Luckily I am almost always now in a state of almost paranoid hyper-awareness and ran before he could get me.”

This post was published about a week ago, and it’s been bothering me ever since.

How can this be considered luck?  Going through so many awful experiences and suffering from paranoia because of it is not luck.  It’s not even bad luck.  It’s tragic, horrid, devastating, heartbreaking, angering, sick, terrifying, any number of words, but luck?  No.  Not even close.

Maybe it was just a poor choice of words on the author’s part, but I don’t see how anyone could associate this with luck.  I don’t see how anyone could associate this with anything other than horror at the whole subject.

If anyone can give me a legitimate example of how rape and luck can be associated, I’m all ears, but until that day, I never want to see them in the same sentence ever again.

Leave a Reply

