Damnation, Also Known As Loving Thy Neighbor

So let me get this straight, if you tell me I’m going to spend an eternity being burned and tortured in hell, that’s just a part of your religion and is just fine.  If I tell you that place you want people to burn in is not real, I’m a horrible person, completely disrespectful, and how dare I offend people like that.  Ladies and gentlemen, I give you our fucked up society.

I still have trouble wrapping my head around this one.  Disagreeing with someone is rude and offensive, but condemning them and threatening them with a lake of fire is fine, it’s just “following my religion, and if you try to challenge me on it, you’re just being hateful.”  In this case, I’m not even going to focus on how we need to get away from religion in general; I’m just going to look at this one issue.

Heads up, I am only referring to Christianity in this, as of now I do not have the type of knowledge of experience with other religions to talk about them.  I would like to have a much better grasp on them before I start bashing them.

Even when I was an avid Christian, this was still the one concept I just could never get behind.  If you want to be a part of a group that promotes love and acceptance of others, be my guest, but if you’re going to convince yourself that’s what you’re doing, meanwhile you’re telling anybody who doesn’t agree with you that they’re going to burn and suffer for eternity, then we have a problem.  And then, if while you’re doing that, you’re telling me that anything I say against what you’re doing is out of line, immoral, rude, inconsiderate, inappropriate, disrespectful, and in some cases, unconstitutional, then we have an even bigger problem, and at that point, I just lose all respect for you.

2 thoughts on “Damnation, Also Known As Loving Thy Neighbor

  1. MorningV says:

    When I was in high school, I had a Jewish friend whose grandmother died. Several of us friends went to the funeral together to support him and one of my extremely hardcore Lutheran friends at the time spent the entire service whispering about how she didn’t feel right attending services and listening to hopeful messages about a lady who was in hell now. I was in absolute shock! This was when I still considered myself Christian, and I still remember being disgusted with her and the entire religion for that. You are sitting at the funeral for your friend’s grandmother and all you can think about is how she obviously went to hell for not sharing your personal beliefs? Get the fuck outta here with that.

    This kind, merciful, loving god obviously isn’t if one is condemned to an eternity in hell simply for being born into the wrong family, and since most people learn their religion from their parents, that’s about all it takes. “I’m sorry that you will never have a chance at salvation, but your parents taught you the wrong thing and you took them at their word. Sucks to be you.” Ugh. I think I’m going to be sick.

  2. wordofwoz says:

    That is just downright despicable. As I stated before, I can’t even wrap my head around that concept or that type of attitude towards others. Whether at a funeral or not, whether the person is alive or dead, the complete calm and ease they have declaring that others are going to suffer in hell…if there weren’t religion behind it, it would be sociopathic.

Leave a Reply

